The Legal Police’s Bad Legal Situation

Posted on January 1, 2009. Filed under: Lawyer Issues |

My Attorney

My Attorney

I paid a retainer for attorney representation on a legal issue on July 15, 2008.  Do you know my case has not progressed due to the lack of action by the lawyer?  AND, he has not given me my documents or my money back at my request.  I had to go to the Illinois Attorney Registration & Disciplary Commission for intervention.

Here’s the situation.  I  went to the Law Offices of ****** for assistance with a legal issue.  I was assigned to the attorney who said that he had won cases similar to mine in court.  Cool.  I spoke with him and paid my retainer.  This was the beginning of a poor attorney-client relationship. 

During our initial meeting, this attorney advised me on what I needed to do to progress.  I completed that process and submitted documents to him on September 2, 2008.  I left a message for him to call me when he had received the documents.  He did not.  I left him an email message.  He did not respond.  It normally took 2-3 days for this guy to call me back.  After a couple weeks of this, I sent him a letter and copied the owner of the law firm letting him know that I wanted to terminate the relationship.  He said that he would do better with communicating.  He started off OK, but ended up doing the same thing – NOTHING.

The attorney told me that my suit would be filed on September 22, 2008.  I received a call from a different attorney on November 3, 2008 at the office that my complaint was given to the sheriff’s office on October 24, 2008.  Isn’t that horrible?  After that phone call, I received an email from the assigned attorney that my case was transferred to the person who called on November 3rd.  I called to speak to the new attorney the following week and learned that he was no longer with the law firm and my case was transferred back to the assigned attorney!!!!  That was just too much.

I called the owner of the law firm for assistance, and he NEVER called me back.  Ever.  I then sent him a letter on November 3rd informing him of the situation and told him that I needed to terminate my relationship with the law firm. I also requested my documents returned along with a refund by December 3, 2008.  When I did not hear back from him, I contacted the disciplinary organization for assistance.  In the interim, I sent a letter to the assigned attorney asking for my documents and my money by December 15th.  I still do not have them.  I even called the assigned attorney for my documents and did not get them.

Why am I sharing this?  Because I need to.  I did not share the name of the law firm or the names of the attorneys because of the status of the case.  When my documents and money are returned to me, I will definitely share that information.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “The Legal Police’s Bad Legal Situation”

RSS Feed for The Legal Police Comments RSS Feed

I am sincerely sorry for the maltreatment from the Law firm and those Attorneys you’re dealing with. Its okay to share whatever experience you had with them.The point is:Your case was probably “scary” to them.May be they are not good enough to handle it.May be they are not sure that you can make it if it comes to appearing in Court. And they don’t want to tell it to your face as it is; so they danced around the circle and treated you that way. It’s actually unfair and you need to take them on come what may. I wish you all the best!–Olaotan Odunuga
http://olaotanodunuga.wordpress.com/


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

